

MINUTES

Tuesday, 26 March 2024 Post-Election Meeting

MINUTES OF MAREEBA SHIRE COUNCIL SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING HELD AT THE COUNCIL CHAMBERS ON TUESDAY, 26 MARCH 2024 AT 9:00AM

1 MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE

Cr Angela Toppin (Mayor), Cr Amy Braes, Cr Nipper Brown, Cr Ross Cardillo, Cr Kevin Davies, Cr Mary Graham, Cr Lenore Wyatt

2 APOLOGIES/LEAVE OF ABSENCE/ABSENCE ON COUNCIL BUSINESS

Nil

3 OFFICE OF THE CEO

The Mayor called for nominations for the position of Deputy Mayor and the following nominations were received:

Cr Lenore Wyatt and Cr Nipper Brown

Both were provided the opportunity to address Council prior to the completion of a ballot conducted by the CEO.

7.1 APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY MAYOR

RESOLUTION 2024/38

Moved: Cr Angela Toppin Seconded: Cr Nipper Brown

That Cr Wyatt be appointed as Deputy Mayor.

CARRIED

7.2 FIXING OF DAYS AND TIMES FOR HOLDING OF ORDINARY MEETINGS

RESOLUTION 2024/39

Moved: Cr Kevin Davies Seconded: Cr Lenore Wyatt

That:

- 1. Ordinary meetings of the Council be held third Wednesday of each Month at 9:00 am unless otherwise determined by Council.
- 2. Unless otherwise determined by Council, all Ordinary meetings are held at the Council Chambers, Rankin Street, Mareeba.

- 3. Details of the Ordinary meeting schedule for 2024 be published in the local newspaper, on the Mareeba Shire Council website and posted in Rankin Street Council Chambers.
- 4. It is noted that the April General Meeting will be held on Tuesday 16 April as per the previous Council resolution.

CARRIED

There being no further business, the meeting closed at 9:17am.
Cr Angela Toppin
Chairperson